Home > Uncategorized > On On Writing

On On Writing

I woke up about a half hour earlier than I expected this morning and, as a result, found that I got all the things I wanted to do about a half earlier I expected (refill the cooler with ice, work out, etc).

I thought I might head out a little early, but when I’m in LA, I expect that my writing time will consist of whatever I can sneak in between internships and class, so I want to start getting back into the habit now.

I like to think of what I’m doing as a bit of an epic quest.  An adventure.  As the decorations Teresa put up for my going away party said “Go West, Young Man, and Find your Destiny”.  The first leg of my journey, from St. Louis to Texas, I’ve been listening to “On Writing”, by Stephen King.  I’ve read a lot of books on the subject of the craft, and more specifically on my subset of the craft, but “On Writing” was my first and possibly my favorite.  King is obviously focused on prose over screenwriting, but what he’s saying is so primal and true that any writer owes to himself or herself to find a copy of the book and read it.

It’s been fantastic listening to it.  First off, to hear King read it, you realize that for all his spookiness, the man is actually just a giant uber-geek.

Secondly, it’s been kind of a spiritual thing.  I’m going off on this adventure, a journey into the magic forest (and with all such journeys, I am bound to return with some prize).  It’s only appropriate that I sit at the feet of the master and hear his wisdom once again.

I’ll finish it before I get out of Texas, I suspect, and then over to another book on tape.  I’m torn between an epic fantasy (Furies of Calderon) and a Sci-fi war story (Old Man’s War).

I’ll let y’all know what I choose.  See you in Arizona!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

